26.02.15 Workshop Day

Today I was planning on taking part in the refresher course on Photoshop and Illustrator but due to the teacher being ill I couldn’t so chose to go into the stitch room instead to work on some samples which I could put into my technical file to replace older ones which arnt particularly great. As i haven’t sew in so long I dd find myself really struggling and began to feel quite upset with how much of a challenge I found this. To overcome this issue I will be going through my technical file during my own time where I can take my time with what I am doing and read though the hand outs to understand what to do and where I am going wrong, I find this the most effective way personally to overcoming problems as I don’t feel pressurized or nervous in a busy environment. I hope by doing this i will strengthen my skills within stitch and will hopefully be able to combine print and stitch within some of my samples during this module.

After my work experience I found myself questioning what I will be doing once I leave university and where I want to be in five years time, I have thought about gaining more experience with designers swell as setting up my own business. To gain a great understanding of what starting up a business involves I have signed up to the creative workshop sessions which take place every Thursday. I attended one tonight and found it a very insightful and inspiring class, it has made me realise that starting up your own business isn’t impossible and not that expensive. There is still a lot to learn over the coming weeks but I feel as though these will benefit me greatly now and in the future. I look forward to next weeks session and feel even though I was unable to attend the print workshop today has still been successful and insightful.



Leave a comment