Dissertation proposal from reflection.

I have found my constellation experience this year a very positive one. I feel more confident with the subject that I have chosen to research and so far have found it to be a very interesting and enjoyable experience. I feel as though by researching this subject in greater depth it will benifit me greatly in the future as it will give me a much greater understanding of how a bigger range of materials react under different circumstances for example cotton, polyester and synthetic materials. This is a key factor when working within the textile industry as having a understanding of the language of the materials that are being dealt can impact the overall outcome of the piece. If the designer does not know how a material such as polyester will react to extreme heat and curtain chemicals it could result it the fabric being ruined. This is also important infromation to understand when sending mixing directions to printers or design companies as it can result in costing the designer a large amount of money if wrong.

I originally found sorting academic information quite difficult as I didn’t think to look into the science of materials, once I had looked into this section of textiles I found the process much easier and found a wealth of information explaining the properties of various fabrics which allowed me to compare the key material that I am researching along side with other materials which are generated in a similar way. I have found researching how clothing impacts females particularly difficult, I have had to look through various books which mainly focus on the movements of feminism but nothing as of yet has focussed specifically on individual items of clothing or materials that depict meanings. I believe by focussing my attentions on books related more closely to fashion / textiles opposed to femninsm it will give me the answers I am looking for.

I plan on reading more books about Alexandra McQeens work over the summer as I struggled to find books that focussed on the theory behind his work during this term as this designer in particular has been quite popular within constellation and the best books were all out on loan. To overcome issues such as this in the future I intend to research online and use summon where online books and journals will be more accessible and will prevent me losing out in the future. I would like to find another designer who works in a similar way by debility conveying messages but by creating a contrasting effect to emphasise the different techniques designers use to convey various meanings or create curtain effects. I will spend my time researching through the university library to find a designer I feel will be suitable for this subject.

I am glad that i have chosen to focus on silk in particular, this is because my findings so far have conflicted / opposed my preconceptions of the material its self. It has often been depicted as a fragile material worn by women to create a desirable/ sexy appearance but in contrast this material is actually resilient fabric and the fabric will only cling if the designer has intended for it to behave like this, this is because due to the way in which the designer decided to sew the material and treat it, this is how it will behave. In contrast to silks durability though it is sensitive to sunlight which weakens the fibres and eventually yellows the garment if not stored properly.

I found the way in which designers are creating man made fabrics interesting as they try to mimic the organic properties but manipulating them to suit the consumers wants and needs by making them more resilient for everyday wear and daily use.

Overall I have really enjoyed this experience so far and feel as though I have grown more confident with researching and breaking down academic information, this is something I previously struggled with. I believe that I have improved my planning and ability to source relevant information for my subject. My only weaknesses during this project has been my ability to find a book specifically aimed at breaking down the conventions of clothing for women but I am confident that by taking the time to closely examine books fashion and textile related I will be able to overcome this issue. I also found the journal section difficult as there doesn’t seem to be many journal pieces online directly related to the subject that I am researching, thought I did find one journal which I feel as though small sections do relate to my subject once elaborated. I also plan to make more regular blog entries as this is something that I often forget to do. I believe by recording my findings on a more regular basis will create a habit.



Leave a comment